British International Removals



Average score of 7.1 out of 41 reviews
Compare with 4 others movers and save on your moving costs
Request a free quote

British International Removals
6 Quark Crescent
2090 Johannesburg
011 608 0955

About moving company British International Removals

British International Removals specialises exclusively in international recolations, with agents in 90 countries around the world. British International Removals provides a full door-to-door relocation service of household furniture, vehicles, motorcycles, boats, caravans and special care items.

Services

International removals
Excess baggage
Car & Vehicle transport
Pet transport

Type of Mover

Unknown

Associations

British International Removals is accredited by the following associations:
PMA



Details

Established
Unknown
Employing
Unknown
Trucks
Unknown

Services

International removals
Excess baggage
Car & Vehicle transport
Pet transport

Type of Mover

Unknown

Associations

British International Removals is accredited by the following associations:
PMA


Details

Established
Unknown
Employing
Unknown
Trucks
Unknown

There are currently 41 reviews for British International Removals.
Write a review

No recommendation

After receiving payment customer service non existing. Tractability of cargo not possible. After 6 months I can not find where my cargo is. Do not try this company, Please!!!!

Pros and cons
none
price
poor service
Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Zywiec (Poland).

Response of

Good day
Whilst being fully booked, we made a concession to assist you before the initial COVID-19 shutdown in SA.
Your household effects being expertly export wrapped, and collected days prior to the impending emergency Lockdown situation, at the end of March 2020 in SA, there were sadly always going to be an unfortunate delay.
Nobody could have predicted the world-wide restrictions on movement of humans and cargo, during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic and the restrictions, which only permitted essential cargo to be shipped/exported .
Non-essential cargo were only permitted for export during June/July.
Our Agent in EUROPE, we believe have been in touch re dates for possible delivery.
We do however understand the frustration the restrictions and delays have caused, all of which are beyond anyone's control. and offer our sincere solidarity with you during this very difficult time.
Yours in service
B.I.R

Published on:



No recommendation

Diabolical experience, 6 boxes did not arrive at the destination and selected items of value had been removed from some of the boxes such as spare cell phones spare watch,Alcohol ,sporting goods and new mini hifi.
Absolutely no recourse after the fact.Apart from that multiple items were broken
I would absolutely recommend you to stay away

Pros and cons
no accounatbilty
untrustworthy
Moved from Australia (South Africa) to Perh (Australia).

Response of

Good day
We are truly sorry about your past experience.
Unfortunately, according to our records, this incident occurred 10 years ago. Our auditors are unable to access the relevant records, in order to assess the exact facts surrounding the items mentioned. We trust that should adequate Transit cover have been in place, it would have at least assisted with the loss, not that it can ever replace sentimental items.
We hope you can accept our apologies for not being able to assist further after a decade.
Regards
B.I.R

Published on:



No recommendation

OUR GOODS WERE NOT DELIVERED BY BRITISH INTERNATIONAL REMOVALS.WE HAD TO COLLECT OUR BELONGINGS FROM THE CLEARING AGENT IN THE UK WHO REFUNDED BRITISH INTERNATIONAL REMOVALS A PORTION OF THE FEE PAID BY US. WE HAD TO SPEND AN ADDITIONAL R18 000.00 TO COLLECT OUR GOODS.

Moved from Randburg (South Africa) to Uxbridge (United Kingdom).

Response of

Good day
Unfortunately with the COVID-19 restrictions in the UK, as with the rest of the world, deliveries are done under strict protocols and are unfortunately hampered compared to usual. We offered to refund the original allocated and amount agreed on, this was however turned down.
One can fully understand and appreciate the frustration being felt during these difficult times, however the inconvenience of a global pandemic is unfortunately unavoidable, and completely out of one's control. A once-off delivery, within a two week period, was turned down, and goods were collected with several separate vehicles.
We at B.I.R wish there were more we could do to shield customers from the inconvenience of an unplanned World-wide pandemic.
B.I.R

Published on:



Recommendation

Very helpful assistance in a tight schedule my container needed to be be packed. Packing was done swiftly. My container was 3 times less than other quotes. I recommend this firm.

Pros and cons
Packing was done swiftly
The Packers had to wait for the truck to collect a long time. The driver could not find the address.
Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Helsinki (Finland).


Recommendation

The gentlemen were quick, helpful, thorough and pleasant. They cleared up any debris after themselves.

Moved from Edenvale (South Africa) to Chelmsford (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

Appointment made to view all the household effects within days of the first request Quote received timeously. Every part of the move happened on the days as planned. Packing, etc was handled professionally. Good information on what documentation is needed plus requirements of importing household effects into the UK. Explaining procedure in UK. All documentation processed and received.

Pros and cons
Professional
Confidence that goods will arrive safely.
Moved from Benoni (South Africa) to Leicester (United Kingdom).


No recommendation

We were given a quote, to pack our entire contents and were advised by [name removed by Sirelo] that everything would fit into 20ft container. We were advised the container would arrive on packing day and we could lock the container personally when the container was packed, this is when we should have realized things were going south, no container just a small truck. When i asked the guys what was happening they said they were instructed to pack our things over three days and take them back to the warehouse and they would be loaded into a container there.
I paid close to R87 000 in cash when the last truck load was done

Packing was done in June 2018 and we requested our container to arrive in Brisbane 1st week of December 2018
Before our container left we were advised there had been a change in shipping rate and we needed to pay in an additional $1400
This payment was made

My hubby moved into our new house in the first week in December and contacted BIR - container had no.. Read more

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Queensland (Australia).


Recommendation

On Dutch side we were selected for inspection and had to pay €405 unplanned, which was a bit unfair as nothing was reportes yet we had to pay.

Moved from Roodepoort (South Africa) to Rotterdam (The Netherlands).


No recommendation

They sent a lady by the name of [name removed by Sirelo] out to check to things that needs moving . We agreed on the amount of things , and a Price was agreed upon .We set the date for packing . I heard Nothing from anyone , and called [name removed by Sirelo] at 20.00 the night before they were to come and pack , to make sure that all is in place . She said they were short staffed , that is why I had no communication from her Office .
The next day the Packing guys arrived , and got it all done in a few Hours . I confirmed with the Team Leader , as to the things being packed , did not exceed what was originally agreed upon . He assured me that it was in fact less. This was on the Thursday . I called the following week , Tuesday and asked [name removed by Sirelo] for a Invoice , I needed to pay , as I was flying out to Perth on the Saturday .No Invoice . I the got into my Car , drove to their Offices in JHB , and got [name removed by Sirelo] to make out an Invoice . The Price had chang.. Read more

Pros and cons
Not what it is cracked up to be
Do not leave the country before your thing do .
Moved from Woodmere , Germiston (South Africa) to Perth (Australia).


Recommendation

Very informative thus far. The movers were efficient and professional. They were also the most helpful in terms of ToR applications which I have not had to do before

Moved from Lonehill (South Africa) to Douglas (Isle of Man).


No recommendation

Furniture was badly damaged on arrival in New Zealand. During our negotiations with BIR ([name removed by Sirelo]) the possibility of poor handling or packaging was not mentioned thus for the insurance option Clause B was chosen unfortunately. Due to this we have no claim and I truly feel someone should take responsibility for this. The damage is directly related to poor handling and container packaging.
Trust you will contact me regarding this.

Pros and cons
Collection and individual wrapping of items was very good and commendable.
Handling and packing of furniture is a disaster.
Moved from Amandasig (South Africa) to Picton (New Zealand).


Recommendation

Ils ont été vraiment professionnel en matière de l'emballage.

Pros and cons
Bien
Il faut qu'à Cotonou tout ce passe bien comme on avait conclu ici
Moved from Pretoria (South Africa) to Cotonou (Benin).


Recommendation

The packers were so friendly. Professional. The rep was a super star. Couldn’t ask for anything else

Pros and cons
Professional
Careful and quick
Moved from Gauteng (South Africa) to Cambridge (United Kingdom).


No recommendation

As expats we move evry 4 years and have had the privilege of living in all continents ( besides Antarctica) but in all the years of moving we have never ever had such a bad experience as this one. More than half of the things were broken beyond repair, plasma tv shattered, christal smashed or chipped, wooden furniture transformed in fire wood ... all the small electronics just disappeared... even the surveillance camera disappeared, the external DVD reader for my Mac , the walkie talkies, the electronic dig trainjng collars everything! and the worse part is the insurance doesn’t pay out properly... give insured something for 4000 and they offer you not more than 800 for it... and for electronics, unless you specify “ electronic dog collar “ or surveillance camera” in the list then they woont pay a penny....
I’m not a materialist person, things are things and nothing more... but we’ve worked hard for this things and it hurts to see them broken or disappeared .

Pros and cons
[name removed by Sirelo] the manager was nice and polite .. he gave his word he would check in person for everything to go well.
[name removed by Sirelo] the manager swore he would check in person for everything to go well and he didn’t....so everything about this move was a disaster ...
Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Casablanca (Morocco).


Recommendation

Professionalism

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Mennagio (Italy).


Recommendation

Move was done efficiently, quickly and their methods for protecting my goods were excellent

Pros and cons
Efficient, they went the extra mile
Moved from Edenvale (South Africa) to Flint (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

On the whole everything went smoothly from the quoting, to the packing, to the delivery and unpacking. Communication at the beginning was not very forthcoming, but we were then kept informed as to the shipping, arrival and delivery.

Moved from Lone Hill (South Africa) to London (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

Great service! Punctual. Friendly. No issues

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Christchurch (New Zealand).


No recommendation

Was promised my things 17september to date am still waiting 29th October also have been charged 3ADDTIONAL amount which REALLY annoys me

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Limassol (Cyprus).


No recommendation

Things were not packed which should have been. Crystal glasses were broken because they were not packed properly. Boxes were incorrectly labelled ie boxes marked 'kitchen ware' contained toys which made unpacking very frustrating. Chocolates and alcohol were taken from a fridge. No reply received when I complained by e-mail

Pros and cons
Pictures were well wrapped
Admin. Staff were polite
Some boxes were damaged not packed well in the container
Mix up in delivery destination - had to pay extra
Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to London (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

From day one Ben and his team did what he said would do, it happened all as planned and I was never in doubt about the process. They really are professional and get the job done, what look like a mountain to me they reduced to something totally insignificant and made it a stress free experience. I was impressed at their knowledge and advise and by taking everything to heart, it was a easy move. I am so grateful to the whole team and especially to Ben whom I could contact and ask any and everything from start to end without a problem. Thank you all at British International Removals

Pros and cons
They know their job and get it done
They make personal contact and are very easy to reach
Moved from Centurion (South Africa) to Abu Dhabi (United-Arab Emirates).


Recommendation

Very efficient, on time & staff were very pleasant

Pros and cons
Arrived on time
Staff pleasant
Moved from Boksburg (South Africa) to Dronfield (United Kingdom).


No recommendation

Some of our kitchen stuff got stolen and they just don't care!

Moved from Pretoria (South Africa) to Hamilton (New Zealand).


Recommendation

Our move is in progress. So far the service has been excellent.

Pros and cons
Very professional
Very efficient
Moved from Benoni (South Africa) to Stevenage (United Kingdom).


No recommendation

The team who did the packing was fantastic - 10 out of 10 - the Sales/Admin ........

Pros and cons
Fantastic Team that actually packs
Seemed to have good knowledge of the destination requirements
Really bad costing/quoting - got it totally wrong and wasted my money/space
no presence on site during pack up and slow after-sales
Moved from Paulshof (South Africa) to Sydney (Australia).


Recommendation

Communication good, helpful

Pros and cons
Flexibility
Not filling void space sufficiently
Moved from Centurion (South Africa) to Newcastle (Australia).


Recommendation

I was sceptical to give my precious valuables to anyone because I was not sure how they would be treated. The teM from British international were very efficient and handled all my items with great care. They were friendly and always willing to help if I had any concerns. Their price was also very competitive when compared to other companies.

Pros and cons
Took care of our items
Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Brisbane (Australia).


Recommendation

Excellent service

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Belfast (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

They had the best price and was very impressed with their service when they came and loaded the house. They initially planned to pack up in 3 days but did it all in 1. This allowed me to take less days off from work which made my employer very happy.

Moved from Germsiton (South Africa) to Auckland (New Zealand).


Recommendation

Super great service for packing but shipping is a mess. Wrong information about the time for shipping has let to container arriving at destination 3 weeks early. This could have been avoided if the company had answered email and endless phone calls.

Moved from Pretoria (South Africa) to Rønne Bornholm Denmark (Denmark).


Recommendation

We found Mr Ben Nienaber to be personal, interested, efficient and co-operative in all his dealings with us. His team worked tirelessly to get the packing up done in the stated time. The personnel of the Company, who were involved with us, were all very friendly and most helpful.It was a pleasure to do business with BIR.

Moved from Midrand (South Africa) to Milton Keynes (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

We had a very tight timeframe. The on site survey and move had to be done within 3 days. They promised they could accommodate us, and they managed to do it 2 weeks ago. Our goods are currently still in Jhb and should be shipped as groupage soon. Hopefully all goes well till the end.

Moved from Lyttelton (South Africa) to Beckenried (Switzerland).


Recommendation

Very punctual, professional and efficient in getting things moved

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Huddersfield (United Kingdom).


No recommendation

We are not impressed with there total service. Once cargo was ready in the UK for delivery, we found ourselves confronted with excuse after excuse as to why they had to bill extra for delivery. Overall service was unacceptable and we advice to not use them at all.

Moved from Gauteng (South Africa) to Crowborough (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

Good service, however the packers missed a cupboard in the kitchen and we had to get the goods to the mover's head office ourselves.

Moved from Pretoria (South Africa) to Sydney (Australia).


No recommendation

We were happy with the initial assessment and quote. We were disappointed that we were not informed that our tent and roof box needed to be steam cleaned before packing
our container which landed up costing us $265-00 in New Zealand. We were also told by British International Removers that it would take 6-8 weeks to receive our container, however it took ±13 weeks. The container arrived on the 22 December 2015 however was only cleared and delivered by the 9th of February 2016!! This cost us $165 a week for the additional weeks to rent furniture. Some of our crockery was not wrapped at all and some non breakable items were wrapped We have other family members and friends immigrating to New Zealand and we will not be recommending British International Removers. One unhappy customer.

Moved from Johannesburg (South Africa) to Auckland (New Zealand).


Recommendation

From the outset they were prompt and very professional and extremely helpful in all their dealings with us.

Moved from Randpark Ridge (South Africa) to Hemel Hempstead (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

They were efficient, professional, friendly and affordable.

Moved from Sandton (South Africa) to Oxford (United Kingdom).


Recommendation

My quotation was reasonable and I got it the day after the agent saw me. The have been very professional in all the dealings so far. The packers were great and very patient

Moved from Midrand (South Africa) to Tiberias (Israel).


Recommendation

Moved from Midrand, Johannesburg (South Africa) to Christchurch (New Zealand).


Recommendation

I felt daunted when I had to arrange an international move, but after contacting Worldwide Removals, at least 5 companies contacted me and gave me quotes. I accepted British International Removal's quote. I have been more than impressed with their professional Approach, service and assistance with documentation. I would recommend the whole experience with confidence.

Moved from Hurlyvale (South Africa) to Cairns (Australia).

Headquarters

British International Removals

6 Quark Crescent
2090 Johannesburg
011 608 0955

Other nearby movers

View all moving companies in Johannesburg and surroundings